Louisa Bowen Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Students in Archival Administration


To provide financial assistance to a resident or full-time student of the MAC region pursuing graduate education in archival administration and to encourage the study of archival administration.


One scholarship of $1,500 (payable to the educational institution) and a one-year membership to MAC.


In order to be eligible for the scholarship, an applicant must be:

  • a resident or full-time student residing in one of the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
  • currently enrolled or accepted into a graduate, multi-course program in archival administration. If the program is not listed in the SAA Directory of Archival Education, the applicant must provide proof of the multi-course standard by submitting course descriptions from the institution's current department catalog.
  • a grade point average of at least 3.0 (based on 4.0 scale) in their most recent academic year.


Applications are due March 31, 2024 and must include the following documents (print or electronic):

  • Application Form (pdf)
  • Current resume including:
    • Education
    • Relevant (archives related) employment/volunteer/internship experience
    • Honors, scholarships or awards received
    • Campus and community activities you are involved in
    • Memberships in professional organizations
  • Transcript from the applicant's most recent academic program.
  • Essay of no more than 500 words outlining the applicant's interests and future goals in archival administration.
  • Two letters of recommendation.

Award Requirement

Award winner will write an essay for the MAC Newsletter on their academic activities assisted by the scholarship and its importance to their graduate archival education.

Return completed application and related materials to:

Lynn Smith, Chair (2020-2024)
Email: [email protected]

Louisa Bowen

BowenLouisa Hopkins Bowen began her professional career in 1975 as archivist at Wayne State University. In 1976, she was appointed archivist for the National Board of the YWCA in New York City. Upon leaving New York, Bowen served as cataloger and archivist at the University of Memphis from 1978 to 1980. Relocating with her family to the St. Louis area, Bowen served for five years as curator of manuscripts at the Morris Library, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, before assuming the position of archivist at Lovejoy Library, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville. She held degrees from Skidmore College, Wayne State University, and New York University. Bowen passed away on October 24, 1996.

Long active in both her profession and her community, Bowen was a member of the Midwest Archives Conference and the Society of American Archivists; she also served as president of the Association of St. Louis Area Archivists. In May 1997, MAC’s general scholarship was renamed the Louisa Bowen Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Students in Archival Administration to honor her contributions to MAC, including Legislative Update editor for the MAC Newsletter, Council member, and program committee chair.

Louisa Bowen Memorial Scholarship for Graduate Studies in Archival Administration Winners

2023 Liz Bloodworth University of Missouri-Columbia
2022 Allessandra Liberati Wayne State University
2021 Karis Blaker Loyola University Chicago & Dominican University
2020 Lena Evers-Hillstrom University of Wisconsin-Madison
2019 Bianca Bárcenas Dominican University
2018 Matthew Prigge University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2017 Treshani Perera University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2016 Mark Prindiville Wayne State University
2015 Samantha Smith Dominican University
2014 Andria Hoy Kent State University
2013 Laurel Gildersleeve University of Wisconsin-Madison
2012 Jennifer Kirmer University of Wisconsin-Madison
2011 Eric Willey University of Wisconsin-Madison
2010 Virginia Corvid University of Wisconsin-Madison
2009 Jessica Miller Wayne State University
2008 Katie Blank University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2007 Ronee Francis Wayne State University
2006 Donald Force Indiana University
2005 Christie Peterson University of Michigan
2004 Christina Waszczak Wright State University
2003 Molly Tierney Simmons College
2002 Magia Ghetu Indiana University
2001 Kristy Sorensen University of Texas at Austin
2000 Lauren Kata Wayne State University
1999 Donna McCrea University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1998 Heather Muir University of Wisconsin-Madison
1997 Joshua Ranger University of Wisconsin-Madison